Bulletin for Biblical Research

ISSN: 1065-223X (print), 2576-0998 (online)    Published by Penn State University Press

As the journal of the Institute for Biblical Research, the Bulletin for Biblical Research (BBR) publishes peer-reviewed articles in Old Testament/Hebrew Bible and New Testament and sometimes cognate literature from a range of historical and literary approaches. A significant portion of the journal is dedicated to timely reviews of new publications on these subjects. Current and past issues are available digitally at JSTOR.


IBR members receive BBR with their membership. Others may subscribe through Penn State University Press.



The journal accepts submissions of essays and book reviews that conform to the guidelines of the SBL Handbook of Style

Submission Instructions


Nijay K. Gupta, Northern Seminary

Associate Editors

Mark Gignilliat, Beeson Divinity School
Joshua Jipp, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

Editorial Board

George Athas, Moore Theological College
Armin D. Baum, Freie Theologische Hochschule Gießen
Ben Blackwell, Houston Baptist University
Mark Boda, McMaster Divinity College
Holly Beers, Westmont College
Lisa Bowens, Princeton Theological Seminary
Diane Chen, Palmer Theological Seminary
Dorian Coover-Cox, Dallas Theological Seminary
Peter H. Davids, St. Paul’s Center
Dennis Edwards, North Park Seminary
Ingrid Faro, Northern Seminary
David G. Firth, Trinity College Bristol
Duane Garrett, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
John Goodrich, Moody Bible Institute
Erin Heim, Oxford University
Moyer V. Hubbard, Talbot School of Theology, Biola University
Daniel E. Kim, Talbot School of Theology, Biola University
Michael Kruger, Reformed Theological Seminary
Catherine McDowell, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary
M. Sydney Park, Beeson Divinity School
Jonathan Pennington, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
Robert L. Plummer, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
Madison Pierce, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
William Ross, Reformed Theological Seminary
Jay Sklar, Covenant Theological Seminary
Justin Marc Smith, Azusa Pacific University
Beth Stovell, Ambrose University
J. Michael Thigpen, Phoenix Seminary

Editorial Assistant

Thomas Lyons, Asbury Theological Seminary